Done and Done….

I finished my February Lady Sweater this week…finally.
It seems like every time I have a large project going, I hit this obligatory lull about 2/3 of the way through it. I can’t figure out if it’s boredom or fear of finishing. I think it’s a bit of both.
But I powered through the second sleeve this week and made it happen…weaved in the ends and even blocked it (I have never seriously blocked anything before. Is that wrong of me?)
I think I need to block the sleeves again, because I am impatient and an amateur, but overall, I am quite happy with the finished product. It is both delightfully fancy-schmancy and a perfect office sweater. And when I say office, I mean “slippers and comfy pants time”, not “business casual”.
FLS
Here’s the deets:
February Lady Sweater by Flint Knits
in Cascade 220…Summer Sky Heather
Knitted on size 9 Addis and my fave cheapo plastic DPNs.
FLS Blocking
I made some “mods” (read: I’m terrible at following patterns). I’m so accustomed to my own preferred method of knitting from the top down, that I kind of ignored a lot of the instructions. When it came time to execute the eyelet increases, I decided to leave the sleeve increases out, since I like a nice fitted sleeve, rather that a wizardly bell. I also didn’t cast on any extra stitches when I separated the sleeves from the body, so my sleeve to body ratio was quite a bit more drastic than the original pattern. It worked out quite nicely, though. I ended up with 49 stitches for each sleeve, which is exactly the amount of sleeve I like.
I ended up with a couple inches of negative ease in the bust area, which is what I was shooting for. It stretched to fit during knitting when I tried it on, and post-blocking it fits just right. The shoulders and upper arms are snug, the way I like them to be.
I gave it a little more length than a lot of the versions I’ve seen on Ravelry, which makes me very happy.

Overall, I give it an A+. This pattern is adorable. I like it so much, I’m tempted to make another one in green or black, but that may be a terrible idea…especially since the gull lace was threatening to drive my totally batty near the end there. I should probably hold off for a while…for my own sanity.

Leave a Reply

